The BiPolar Express

A Glimpse Through the Looking Glass

G&G – My Home February 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — matildebonaparte @ 4:31 am

Well, it seems that Grandma will be released tomorrow or Saturday but not to home.  Like Grandpa, after his last hospitalization, she will be released to a nursing home for some rehabilitation.  Not the same one Grandpa was in, though.  This pleases me since the one he was in was rated a 1 out of 5 on the medicare website.  The one Grandma is going to is rated a 4 out of 5.   I am of the opinion that nursing homes are never a great environment, but 4 out of 5 ain’t bad.

Its disturbing to me how quickly a person’s health can fail.  I remember when Mom was sick, she seemed to be doing okay and then, BOOM, things started to fall apart.  She was hospitalized with fluid in her abdomen and within 3 months she was gone.  Grandpa was hospitalized last October, on the eve of L’s wedding, and its been downhill ever since.  Now Grandma.  I’m thinking its going to be a long, painful, spring and summer.

I realize how lucky I am to have had my grandparents as long as I’ve had them.  They’ve been such a huge influence in my life.  I like to think that I get my strength from my grandma, my ability to tell a story from my grandpa, and my sense of humor from the both of them.  They’re both highly intelligent and very caring people.  They’ve had the same telephone number my entire life.  I know, you’re thinking, “what the hell does that mean?”   Well, let me tell you what it means.  It means that when I was growing up, no matter where I was in the world, I knew how to call home.  And for me, home has always been THEM…not a place.

My Wonderful Grandparents

My Wonderful Grandparents

 

Leave a Reply

