The BiPolar Express

A Glimpse Through the Looking Glass

When I’m Wrong February 21, 2009

Filed under: health — matildebonaparte @ 9:01 pm
Tags: , ,

When I’m wrong I’m completely wrong.  Thankfully, because I isolate myself so completely its generally only me I have to apologize to when it happens.

A few weeks ago I noticed a small rash on my back.  It was in the area of my waist and I thought that since I’ve gained weight recently it was a rash caused by the tightening my of my waistbands.

About the same time I started feeling that I was so cold that my skin hurt.  In fact, I mentioned that several times on my facebook page.

At about 3 a.m. on Friday I woke up with every nerve ending in my scalp dancing.  I couldn’t help but cry.  At first I thought I was cold again but slowly it dawned on me that I wasn’t really cold…I was in pain.

I went to the doctor later in the morning.  Turns out that I have stress-induced shingles.  I’ve had shingles before so I don’t know why I didn’t recognize it immediately.  

I’m taking steriods, anti-virals and pain pills.  Its always something, I think.  The sooner I realize and accept this the better off I’ll be.

 

Leave a Reply

