The BiPolar Express

A Glimpse Through the Looking Glass

Inspiration May 24, 2009

Filed under: Food — matildebonaparte @ 1:26 am
Tags: ,

Over at Pinch My Salt they’ve started a worldwide group of bakers who are going to work their way through The Breadbaker’s Apprentice.  It’ll take about a year and they did their first loaves last week.  Its a great site and I recommend that you visit it if you’re even vaguely interested in baking.

I’m not quite brave enough for bread yet, so I didn’t join the group.  It does look like a fabulous book and working my way through it is something that I definitely want to do at some point but now is not that time for me.

It got me to thinking though, I have a lot of cookbooks and I’ve cooked some things out of each of them.  I’ve never “cooked my way through” one of them, though. It never even occurred to me.  Now, though, I’ve decided to give it a shot.  I’ve chosen “The Cake Doctor.”

Okay, I admit it. I love to bake and I’m good at it.  Plus I love cake.  Plus, I can take the left-overs to work and they’ll love it, too.  So, this is it. I ‘m going to work my way through The Cake Doctor, one cake at a time, each week.

First week will be Deeply Chocolate Almond Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting.  I’ll post pictures when its done.

And although I don’t expect anyone to join me in my little project, feel free to if you’d like.

 

Leave a Reply

